Mike Svoboda: Clara, Robert und Johannes

Clara, Robert und Johannes

Fantasy on a romantic triangle (2004) for 18 musician, tapes, and a trombonist.

Music from Robert Schumann and Mike Svoboda
Texts from Clara Wieck-Schumann, Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Manfred Weiss, Karoline von Günderode, E.T.A. Hoffmann, Jean Paul, and Heiner Müller

Premiered on the 8th of May 2004 in Tettnang, Germany at the Bodenseefestival 2004 with the Kammerphilharmonie Bodensee-Oberschwaben under the direction of Mike Svoboda commissioned by the Bodensee-Festivals GmbH.

concert program

Vorstellung, Fantasie und Form - text Manfred Weiss for trombone (also narration) and chamber orchestra
Pairs 1, 2 and 3 - Nr. 1: Clara und Robert - for trombone (also narration) and tape
Poets and Lovers - for fender rhodes and orchestra in four movements with paraphrases out of Robert Schumanns Dichterliebe, Op. 48
The ring and a flowery green nightgown - text Manfred Weiss for narrator, ensemble (also voice), and tape
Nacht und Gut for chamber orchestra
Pairs 1, 2 and 3 - Nr. 2: Johannes und Clara - text Clara Schumann und Johannes Brahms 
for trombone (also recitation) and two turntables
Ahnung und Gegenwart (with intermission) - text E.T.A. Hoffmann for trombone (also narration) and chamber orchestra
Ahnung und Gegenwart (cont.)- text E.T.A. Hoffmann for trombone (also narration) and chamber orchestra
Pairs 1, 2 and 3 - Nr. 3: Robert und Johannes - text after Robert Schumann for trombone (also narration), ensemble and tape
Cause and Effect (more reaction) - text Heiner Müller for alto trombone (also recitation) and chamber orchestra
Adagio and Allegro from Robert Schumann, Op. 70 arranged and enriched for alto trombone and chamber orchestra by Mike Svoboda
Vorstellung, Fantasie und Form (cont.) - text Karoline von Günderode for trombone (also narration) and chamber orchestra

duration: 100 minutes with intermission


orchestra of 18 players
  • woodwind quintet (flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet in Bb, bassoon, horn in F)
  • 2 percussion with turntables
  • fender rhodes piano (77 keys)
  • 2 string quartets (2 violins, viola, violoncello each)
  • 2 double basses
solo trombone (also recitation)

schumann/svoboda: adagio & allergro (excerpt)

svoboda: nacht und gut (excerpt)

svoboda: poets and lovers, 2nd mouv. (excerpt)

Go back