last website update 06/18/2015

latest news

new composition: Triple Concerto

In December of 2013 Mike Svoboda was commissioned by the Sieghardt Rometsch Foundation to compose a work featuring the three winners of the 2013 Aeolus Competition, Tom Poulson, trumpet, Sebastiaan Kemner, trombone, and Rubén Durá de Lamo, tuba. This work, written in the summer of 2014 and called simply Triple Concerto, will be given its premiere performance on the 17th of April in Cottbus, Germany, with the mentioned soloist and the Philharmonisches Orchester Cottbus under the direction of their conductor Evan Christ, with a following performance on the 10th of April.

Read more …

New Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes

In January 2014, Mike Svoboda signed some 20 past works and all new works exclusively with publisher Boosey & Hawkes. Besides the orchestra works and works for the stage, some of the most recent compositions such as Luminous Flux (2014) for 8 voices and percussion, Eunoia (2014) for female voice, trombone, violoncello, piano, and percussion are now available for hire and sale. Music for Trombone, Piano and Percussion (2011) as well as Music for Trombone and Ensemble (2012) will be available at the end of April.

Mike Svoboda at Boosey & Hawkes:

Eunoia on YouTube:

Luminous Flux on SoundCloud:

Read more …

Les Trombones du Bâle concerts in May

On May 29th and 30th Mike Svoboda’s trombone ensemble les trombones de bâle will be playing two concerts entitled „we are monkeys with money and guns“. With works for 1 to 8 trombones written by the american composers John Cage, Sidney Corbett, David Rosenboom, Tom Johnson, Aaron Cassidy, Mike Svoboda, and Robert Erickson, the program covers a range of music of the past 50 years. The ensemble consists of present and former students of Mike Svoboda, as well as a few special guests. The 29th of May is in Mannheim, Germany and the 30th of May in Basel, Switzerland. Further Information:

Read more …

Workshop/competition new music theater for young audiences

The Stuttgart organization IndieOper e.V. is offering an exciting workshop/competition for new works of music theater for young audiences. In two workshops in May and October 2015, young composers will be coached by a team – Manfred Weiß, stage direction, Sarah Sun, voice, Mike Svoboda, composition, Johannes Fuchs, dramaturge on writing for this special and important genre. A final presentation of three commissioned pieces from the workshop participants will be presented in March 2016. More information and registration:

Read more …

Erwin, das Naturtalent – again in Vienna

In collaboration with the internationally renown Wiener Sängerknaben (Vienna Boys Choir) and the Volksoper Wien, Mike Svoboda's family opera "Erwin, das Naturtalent" will see another series of performances in Vienna, Austria in March, 2015. this new production, the 6th since the premiere in Stuttgart in 2005, the main roles of Erwin and his friend Rosa will be sung for the first time by children, a boy mezzo (Erwin) and a young girl (Rosa). Further informaition:

Read more …