Clara, Robert, and Johannes - a phantasy on a romantic triangle

(2004) 90' / for 18 musicians and trombone solo.

music: Robert Schumann and Mike Svoboda.
texts: Manfred Weiss, E.T.A. Hoffmann, Heiner Müller, Johannes Brahms, etc.

Premiere by the Bodensee-Oberschwaben chamber orchestra under the direction of Mike Svoboda on May 8th, 2004 in Tettnang, Germany. Commissioned by the Bodensee Festival.

view score on issuu

with the following works:

Vorstellung, Fantasie und Form Text: Manfred Weiss
for trombone (recitation) and chamber orchestra

Pairs 1, 2 and 3 - #1: Clara and Robert 
for trombone (recitation), two turntables and ensemble

Poets and Lovers
a "concertino" for Fender Rhodes and chamber orchestra
in four mouvments after themes form Robert Schumann Dichterliebe

The ring and a flowery green nightgown Text: Manfred Weiss
for narrator, turntables, ensemble and choir

Nacht und Gut‘
for chamber orchestra

Pairs 1, 2 and 3 - #2: Johannes and Clara Text: J. Brahms und Clara Schumann
for trombone (recitation), turnbalbes and ensemble

Ahnung und Gegenwart (with intermission) Text: E.T.A. Hoffmann
for trombone (recitation) and chamber orchestra

Pairs 1, 2 and3 - #3 Robert and Johannes Text: Robert Schumann
for trombone (recitation), turntables and ensemble

Cause and Effect (more reaction) Text: Heiner Müller
for alto trombone (recitation) and chamber orchestra

Robert Schumann's Adagio and Allegro
arranged and enriched for alto trombone and orchestra by Mike Svoboda

Vorstellung, Fantasie und Form (continued) Text: Karoline von Günderode
for trombone (recitation) and chamber orchestra


orchestra of 18 players
  • woodwind quintet (flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet in Bb, bassoon, horn in F)
  • 2 percussion with turntables
  • fender rhodes piano (77 keys)
  • 2 string quartets (2 violins, viola, violoncello each)
  • 2 double basses
solo trombone (also recitation)

Go back